Diana Kormos-Buchwald

This site has been modified from its original version. The interactive elements, such as comment forms, have been removed. This site was archived in October, 2019.


Diana Kormos-Buchwald is a historian of modern physical science whose interests span science, politics, and culture between 1895 and 1945. Her research concerns the development of scientific ideas and experiments, the textual representation of science, and controversies involving science, religion, and authority. As the director of the Einstein Papers Project, her work has focused on Albert Einstein.

The Einstein Papers Project is one of the most ambitious scholarly publishing ventures undertaken in the history of science. An international group of scholars and staff collects, transcribes, annotates, and publishes The Collected Papers of Albert Einstein, which provides the first complete picture of Einstein's massive written legacy. The large-format published volumes draw upon Einstein's personal papers, held at the Albert Einstein Archives, and more than 40,000 additional Einstein and Einstein-related documents that the project's researchers discovered since the 1980s. The volumes cover topics ranging from Einstein's groundbreaking work on the special and general theories of relativity and the origins of quantum physics to his global involvement in promoting cooperation, human rights, education, and disarmament. When completed, the printed series will contain over 14,000 documents, filling nearly 30 volumes.

Kormos-Buchwald is the co-editor of the documentary edition of The Collected Papers of Albert Einstein, leading the project, spearheading fundraising efforts, and running the effort to translate the papers into English. She has also had appointments at the Institute for Advanced Study at Princeton (1992–1993) and the Internationales Forschungszentrum Kulturwissenschaften in Vienna (1997).Recently she was a visiting scholar at the University of Amsterdam and Boerhaave Museum in Leiden and a visiting scholar at the Max Planck Institute for the History of Science in Berlin. She is a Fellow of the American Physical Society (2013) and of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (2011).